Week 50 Paris mon amour

As you might have noticed in a previous post Anne Jitske and myself  visited Paris for a job. When the job was done we had a  weekend left over to walk around, drink hot chocolate, eat good food, visit a museum and drink wine. Of course we made some pictures too. It has been a long time ago I visited Paris and was very happy to wander around again. Or cycle! The new Velib bicycles are a joy to use and at  least as fast as the subway.

I stopped mentioning gear but this time I can’t resist because it was unusual and new for me. I used a Canon 5D with an Olympus 24/2.0. For most people this is a bit unusual but for me it works very nice. I use the Olympus 24 because my Leica 24 doesn’t fit on the 5D and because the Olypmus is a stop faster and still very usable wide open. It’s compact too and even features a floating element.

The new piece is a Voigtlander 35/1.2. At last I got the nerve to trade my Summilux 35/1.4 for this lens. Some people will call me stupid for this but I’m so glad I did it. The Voigtlander is a superb lens. During the day I shot Adox 25 almost everything wide open. At night Tri-x at 400. With the Summilux I had to close down to at least 2.0 to get the same quality as the Nokton at 1.2!

Okay now some pictures.

1

1

Cashier at the book store Shakespeare & co.

1

1

At last I got some  nice clouds over Île de la Cité.

1

1

You’re never to young to learn about art.

1

1

1

1

1

1

Another one of Île de la Cité, now a bit inspired by Willy Ronis.

1

1

1

1

Cigarette breaks make nice subjects.

1

1

For still lives the flea market is a good place.

1

1

Or the book stores along the Seine

1

1

1

1

When it started to snow we visited Musee d’Orsay and were inspired by the surrealists.

1

1

It was pretty cold, but chess must be played at all times.

1

1

Chairs waiting for the tourists who will come back in the spring.

1

1

Rue Mouffetard.

1

1

1

1

5 thoughts on “Week 50 Paris mon amour

  1. The Art lesson is my favorite of the series. I like the ches players too, could it be cropped a bit?
    The Nokton 35 is the lens that Ted Grant carries on his M8! It is a great lens.

Leave a comment