Jazz with the Fuji X-Pro1

I love jazz and I love photography.
I use my photography to visit concerts by photographing and writing for www.cultuurpodiumonline.nl.

Most of the times I use a Canon 5Dmark2 with a 70-200/2.8isII. Very versatile, great  high iso performance and very fast. Almost to easy and also too heavy.

Lately I’ve used also the Fujifilm X-Pro1 for concert photography. It’s a great little camera with maybe even better high iso performance. There are however no long lenses yet. Therefore I use a cheap Ebay adapter for Canon to the Fuji. On that I put a Leica to Canon adapter and now I can use all my superb Leica-R glass on my Fuji. I’ve used the 90mm and 180mm but most of the times the 135/2.8 lives on it. This set up rules out auto focus. But the AF in the X-pro1 is too slow anyhow (this was before FW 2) so manual focus is the way to go. The EVF is okay but suffers from lag. If the artist is moving too much it is impossible to see if I’ve focused well enough. Because of this I tend to shoot  more frames then with the Canon. Nevertheless, the Fuji is a joy too use.

Is it the best tool for concert photography? Probably not, but it does the job well enough for me and saves me from a sore back.

Esma Redzepova

Esma Redzepova

James Carter, North Sea Jazz

James Carter, North Sea Jazz

James Carter, North Sea Jazz

James Carter, North Sea Jazz

Gregory Porter, North Sea Jazz

Gregory Porter, North Sea Jazz

Ahmad Jamal, North Sea Jazz

Ahmad Jamal, North Sea Jazz

Reid Anderson,The Bad Plus, North Sea Jazz

Reid Anderson,The Bad Plus, North Sea Jazz

Joshua Redman with The Bad Plus, North Sea Jazz

Joshua Redman with The Bad Plus, North Sea Jazz

Tom Beek. Jan van Duikeren's Fingerprint, North Sea Jazz

Tom Beek. Jan van Duikeren’s Fingerprint, North Sea Jazz

Wayne Shorter, North Sea Jazz

Wayne Shorter, North Sea Jazz

Archie Shepp, North Sea Jazz

Archie Shepp, North Sea Jazz

ernst Reijseger, Flat Earth Society feat. Ernst Reijseger, Jazz Middelheim 2012

ernst Reijseger, Flat Earth Society feat. Ernst Reijseger, Jazz Middelheim 2012

Avishai Cohen, Jazz Middelheim 2012

Avishai Cohen, Jazz Middelheim 2012

Abdullah Ibrahim, Jazz Middelheim 2012

Abdullah Ibrahim, Jazz Middelheim 2012

3 thoughts on “Jazz with the Fuji X-Pro1

  1. Oh Wow – stunning images. Thanks for sharing these with us and adding some visual inspiration. Did you find manual focus a lot better with v.2 upgrade??

    Keep up the good work

    Sutto

Leave a Reply

